About

little kate piano art bird

Hi! I’m Kate. Folks know me as a musician, visual artist and bird-enthusiast. I grew up in Ontario, lived in Nova Scotia, toured across the country by bicycle & train and landed in BC where I now live with my partner Seán. Since finding some grounding, I’m now focusing on self-care, strengthening creative practices, and engaging in environmental conservation work.

Removing invasive daphne so native plants have space to flourish ⚘ Photo courtesy of HAT


These are some ways in which I like to spend my time:

🎶 Playing and composing music 🎨 making art 🦆 watching/listening to birds 🌱 exploring the natural world 🎩 wearing interesting hats 📚 reading 🍵 drinking herbal/green teas 🍙 cooking meals 😋 savouring food 🙆🏻‍♀️ stretching 🚶🏻‍♀️ strolling 🧘🏻‍♀️ meditating 🤹🏻‍♀️ juggling 🕺🏻 dancing 🤣 guffawing 🧠 solving problems creatively

 


Music



Dabbling: ~1992-present Performing professionally: 2011-present

bird horn square Honking with the geese at Esquimalt LagoonPhoto credit: Caitlyn Neufeld 2019

2020 to present – In the process of recording a piano-based album, as well as composing new music. Currently creating with an accordion, upright piano, voice (including polyphonic overtone singing), musical saw, jaw harp, bits & bobs.

A glimpse: ‣ Toured by bicycle (including a tandem-recumbent bike with a fully-loaded trailer), bus, ferry and train (VIA Rail Onboard Entertainment) performing in ON, QC, NS, NB, PEI and BC from 2012 to 2015 ‣ Performed at 17 festivals between 2014-2019 ‣ Co-organizer of the Bicycle Music Festival in Victoria 2017-'19

See my full curriculum vitae for music here

 


Art



Dabbling: ~1991-present Professionally dabbling: ~2004-present

Currently experimenting with sculpting, drawing, carving, sewing, needle-felting, painting, digital art, cut-and-pasting, and using anything that's lying around.

hibernation Self Portrait, Hibernation, 2020


Back to Homepage